A lot of snow for May.

My surrogate little sister turned 18 last week. isn’t she beautiful?

So a couple months ago I planned a girls camping trip up in the lake district. Laura kept harping on about going out on the lakes on some kayaks. For one reason or another it didn’t work out. This not-working-out happened quite last minute. I came up with a plan B and Laura was super duper excited to get to go water skiing. Except that didn’t work out either. The wind was too high and blowing in the wrong direction. And this not-working-out was really really last minute. Like a couple hours before we were supposed to go last minute. But somehow I came up with a plan C. So three of us headed off to ChillFactor in Manchester. To learn how to ski. The husband and the little bears came too to play in the snow. Yep. If you havn’t been: real snow. Inside. Way cool.

The skiing was ace. We wanted to get back out when we were done. It was all going so well…..

We did head back out into the snow to use the sledges on the slope. I watched the girls play in the snow while The Husband, Sammie and Laura bombed it down the snow on various contraptions. Half way through the session Rob came to take the girls and I was handed the ‘safest’ sledge. It was more like a mini go kart without wheels. you could steer the thing and it even had brakes. I felt I was in safe hands. I sat side by side with Sammie ready to race her…

I don’t know what happened. It all happened too fast. I think I slammed on the brakes too hard. The monster I was sitting in started to spin around the ice as I hurtled down the slope and then I flew off it. I think. I’m not sure if I actually separated from said demonic structure or not. Maybe we continued to tumble together. Either way I sumersaulted over the ice (with or without the sledge) and landed on my right arm and leg. Then the monster sledge landed on my head and smacked it onto the ice underneath me.

I lay still for a second and then…started laughing hysterically. Really. Laughing, I wiggled everything to make sure i hadn’t broken anything and everything seemed in working order. Sammie got to me and followed my lead with the laughing. I was still laughing when I got to my feet and saw the instructor running down towards me to see if I was ok. I was throbbing all over but made my way back up the slope. I needed to do this again. Don’t they say if you fall off your bike you’re supposed to get back on straight away or you’ll become frightened to ride again later on? Well I figured I needed to get back onto the saddle sledge. As I got to the top I wasn’t feeling so good. My head was banging, my neck hurt, I had a dead arm and I started to feel dizzy.

I walked back down the slope this time.

A little while later I hurried to the toilets to throw up. I felt dreadful. And I had to drive an hour back home.

I don’t think I’ve ever concentrated so hard. I had gotten cold and shivery and feeling really really tired. It must have been adrenaline that kept me going because when we were getting close to home I was starting to lose it a little. I was confused and sleepy and just glad Rob’s car was right in front of me to follow. I pulled up onto our drive and turned off the engine. I think I asked L to give me a minute – I just couldn’t move. I put my head on the steering wheel and fell asleep. Rob got me out of the car and up the stairs. I climbed into bed relieved that I could close my eyes. Rob came up to wake me at regular intervals through the evening, asking me randomly wierd questions and flashing bright lights in my eyes. I think he fancied himself as Dr Karl Kennedy.

I woke up this morning still feeling out of it. You know when you take really strong pain relief and it spaces you out? It was just like that. I sat in the church service not really with it. I warned Rob to leave me along because people might look and think I was high on drugs…

Throughout this afternoon I have started to feel loads better. Now I feel fine, just really sore around my neck. Give it a few days and I’ll be good as new.

At least I didn’t bleed. I don’t like blood. And can you imagine that kind of mess on a load of white ice. Gross.

And at least I was wearing a helmet. I shudder to think…

So quite an adventure right?

Would I ski again? Totally. Can’t wait. Do I look forward to the next time I see a sledge? Not so much.

Happy Birthday Laura. You’re awesome and I love you.

5 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Laura
    May 29, 2011 @ 20:10:55

    love it!!!! 🙂 xxx

    Reply

  2. jo
    May 29, 2011 @ 20:13:14

    Man alive that sounds so scary, I’m glad you’re ok now and glad you had a good time.
    You were right, it was worth the wait x

    Reply

  3. Chris
    May 31, 2011 @ 03:22:12

    Nice Mittens…

    Reply

  4. Trackback: 250. « tutus and trainers
  5. Trackback: archive. | All Things Momma Bear

Leave a comment